

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

August 20, 2020

Honorable David L. Bernhardt Secretary United States Department of the Interior 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20240

Dear Secretary Bernhardt:

We are pleased to hear that the President has decided to withdraw Mr. William Perry Pendley's nomination to be director of the Bureau of Land Management. We have grave concerns, however, with reports that Mr. Pendley will continue to lead the bureau through his current position as deputy director, exercising the authority of the director. For the same reasons that Mr. Pendley is unfit to be confirmed as director, he is unfit to exercise the authority of the director without being confirmed, and we ask that you remove Mr. Pendley from this position. We also call on the President to nominate a qualified director for consideration through the regular confirmation process.

Mr. Pendley's long public record of advocacy for selling off public lands and reducing access to them, attempts to undermine tribes and tribal sovereignty, and denial of climate change make his beliefs and actions antithetical to either role. His role in the mismanagement of public assets during his first tenure at the Department of the Interior raises serious questions about his fitness for any federal position. The Bureau of Land Management requires a qualified leader who supports public lands and the bureau's critical role in administering them for the American people.

We urge you to remove Mr. Pendley from his position leading the Bureau of Land Management.

Sincerely,

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

Joe Manchin United States Senator

- 8 -

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Chris Murphy United States Senator

atin Leah

Patrick Leahy United States Senator

100 0

Tom Udall United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Lizali

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

amming Virckwath

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

rue Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

an a

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

Jeffrey A Merkley

United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

2 Wyde

Ron Wyden United States Senator

tersu

Debbie A. Stabenow United States Senator

Tillibrand tra

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Ha nasque

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Page 4

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Kamala D. Harris United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

R Werner

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Robert Menendez

United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

prolin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Tim Kaine / United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

in

Jon Tester United States Senator

Angus/King

United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

~1 Blam

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Tom Carper

United States Senator

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Patty Marra United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Brian Schatz United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Aur Doug Jones

United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator