United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

January 22, 2025

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker,

We write today to request a Congressional Gold Medal ceremony commemorating the Women's Army Corps unit, the 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion. This battalion, commonly known as the Six Triple Eight, was composed of courageous women who played a crucial role in America's pivotal victory in the European Theatre during World War II.

The Six Triple Eight was the only all-Black, all-female unit of the United States Army serving overseas during World War II. Their momentous task was to clear out a three-year, 17-million-piece backlog of mail sent to American servicemembers on the battlefield. Their motto, "no mail, low morale," encouraged them as they faced these insurmountable odds.

We first recognized these women in 2018 when the Senate passed a resolution to honor the 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion. In 2020, the Senate successfully passed the "Six Triple Eight" Congressional Gold Medal Act of 2021 to award the Congressional Gold Medal to members of this battalion. Finally, in 2022, the Six Triple Eight legislation was signed into law.

Since passing this legislation, numerous historical articles have been written, and a film was produced in commemoration of the tireless work accomplished by more than 850 women. The role these women played in boosting the morale of young servicemembers during World War II is cemented in our nation's history.

However, we are nearing a critical juncture. Today, only two members of the Six Triple Eight are known to be alive. Those still surviving ought to not wait any longer to receive this long-awaited recognition they rightfully deserve. The design and production of the Six Triple Eight Congressional Gold Medal is complete. Therefore, we ask that you swiftly schedule a ceremony to recognize the service these women gave to our nation.

We appreciate the work you do in ensuring the recognition of deserving Americans with the highest distinction Congress can bestow, and we look forward to working with you in making this ceremony a reality.

Sincerely,

United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

Jerry Moran

Jerry Moran United States Senator James E. Risch United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Mark Kelly United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Jacky Rosen
United States Senator

Michael Bennet United States Senator

Will F. But

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Cory Booker United States Senator

Angus S. King United States Senator Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

Andy Kim

United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

Ruben Gallego

United States Senator